top of page



The Beatitudes are at the heart of Jesus'  preaching.  They take up the promises made to the chosen people since  Abraham.  The Beatitudes fulfill the promises by ordering them no longer merely  to the possession of a territory, but to the Kingdom of heaven:


  • Blessed are the poor in spirit, for  theirs is the kingdom of heaven.


  • Blessed are those who mourn, for  they shall be comforted.


  • Blessed are the meek, for they  shall inherit the earth.


  • Blessed are those who hunger and  thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.


  • Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.


  • Blessed are the pure in heart, for  they shall see God.


  • Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.


  • Blessed are those who are  persecuted for righteousness' sake, for theirs is the kingdom of  heaven.


  • Blessed are you when men revile you  and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven.


The Beatitudes depict the countenance of Jesus Christ  and portray his charity. They express the vocation of the faithful associated  with the glory of  his Passion and Resurrection; they shed light on the actions  and attitudes characteristic of the Christian life; they are the paradoxical  promises that sustain hope in the midst of tribulations; they proclaim the  blessings and rewards already secured, however dimly, for Christ's disciples;  they have begun in the lives of the Virgin Mary and all the  saints.

bottom of page